Skip to content

Speechie Spotlight!

June 22, 2012

While I usually try to write about SLP specific topics, such as new research or interesting occurrences in the field, this week I decided to write about the students themselves! Meet 4 of the 57 first year Master of Science Speech Language Pathology students from the University of Alberta!

Shay Lesy
1. Hometown: Lafleche, Saskatchewan
2. Undergrad Degree: Major in Psychology and Linguistics from the University of Regina.
3. Interests and Hobbies: I like going to the movies, going out for supper, playing sports, and going to the gym. I really enjoy doing anything as long as I’m surrounded by the people I love.
4. How did you find out that you were accepted?: At the time, my mail was going to my parents house so I had been calling my parents every day to see if I had any mail. One day I decided to stop over and check for myself and saw the letter sitting on the kitchen table. My dad was home but I didn’t want to open it in front of anyone in case I didn’t get accepted. So I snuck out and started driving away. I opened the letter and read that I had been accepted so I had to pull over and call my parents to tell them the news. Later that day I had checked my junk mail and noticed that I had received an email a week prior saying I was accepted. All of that anxiety could have been avoided if I had just checked my email!

5. Your favourite part of living in Edmonton:There’s so much to do compared to Saskatchewan!
6. One piece of advice you would give to incoming students: It’s very important to make the time to do things other than school work. At first it can feel like you should be spending all of your time doing school work but if you take time for yourself your school work will benefit in the end. It will also lead to a happier and healthier you!

Margaux Keith
1. Hometown: Born and mostly raised in Beaverlodge, Alberta. The rest of the raising was in Victoria, BC.
2. Undergrad Degree: Double Major in Psychology and Linguistics
3. Interests and Hobbies: Dance, other performing arts, running and socializing. When this degree ends, I plan to continue reading for pleasure as well!
4. How did you find out that you were accepted?: I was sitting at my boyfriend’s kitchen table while he made dinner. I read the e-mail and at first was in total shock, because it was earlier than I had expected to hear anything. He said that initially he thought that someone died because I just kept saying “oh my god.” Finally I was able to get out that I had gotten into school and completely broke down in tears. I was so happy that my hard work had paid off and was glad that I got to share that moment with someone I care about.
5. Your favorite part of the program: 2 things. First, my classmates. I really do love this group of people. Second, the practical experience we get, and how the program introduces it to you in baby steps.
6. The hardest part of the program: The workload.
7. Your favourite part of living in Edmonton: I spent my undergrad here as well so I have good base of social support here. The summers here are fantastic, the weather is (usually) lovely, and there are so many activties and festivals going on all the time.
8. One piece of advice you would give to incoming students: Do your best to keep the craziness of the workload in this program to a “work day”, and spend a few evenings and weekends doing something you enjoy with people you like. It won’t always be possible (ahem, finals…), but it will do wonders for your mental health if you make it a goal.

Julia Esch

1. Hometown: Westlock, AB
2. Undergrad Degree: B.Sc. Chemistry
3. Interests and Hobbies:  Camping, Hunting, Fishing
4. Where were you when you found out that you were accepted?:  In a school computer lab.
5. Your favorite part of the program:  Cadaver lab and all of the AWESOME people
6. The hardest part of the program:  Scheduling time for all the group presentations in the second semester
7. One piece of advice you would give to incoming students:  Help out each other and treat each other like true colleagues!

Adele Courchesne 

1. Hometown: Vermilion, AB
2. Undergrad Degree: B.A , Major in Psychology, Minor in Linguistics
3. Interests and Hobbies:  Reading for fun, working out, hanging out with friends, camping and music.
4. Where were you when you found out that you were accepted?:  I got the phone call while I was on the LRT going home. When the lady on the phone got to the part about me getting in, the train went through a tunnel and I couldn’t hear what she was saying!! Finally, the call reconnected and I got all the details, but man, what a stressful/exciting experience! I had to try to contain myself while everyone on the train was staring at me for the rest of the train ride home.
5. Your favorite part of the program:  The ability to make 57 new friends all in one place, and all the incredible people we get to learn from.
6. The hardest part of the program:  Switching my brain from being focused on learning the material to get good grades to get into grad school, to learning the material because its what I am going to need to know for the rest of my career!

7. Your favorite part of living in Edmonton: There is always something going on or something to explore, from festivals to parades to beautiful parks. There are even festivals in the winter!

8. One piece of advice you would give to incoming students: Really get to know the staff and make connections with everyone you will meet throughout the program. Everyone you learn from during the program is a resource that will be good to have when you leave and go on to start your life as an amazing SLP!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

