Skip to content

Checking in on the Speechies!

January 30, 2013

The weeks are flying by since the speechies have started their placements, and I thought it would be interesting to check in with some of them to see where they are and what’s been happening in their placements!

Adele, Calgary AB: “I think the coolest thing so far has been actually seeing what we’ve learnt about on paper. Dr. Cleary was right, the tongue actually does deviate to the side of weakness!”

Stephanie, Edmonton, AB:  I was doing a story from the ENNI with a little girl  and I asked her “Where is the sandcastle?” She starts off her answer telling me what it is and ends her answer by pointing to the bunny and says, “He has a big belly like my daddy!” Couldn’t help it, I laughed out loud…she laughed with me. I also got loudly farted on again as a child plopped down in my lap, he then immediately turned to face me and said, “I have to poop.”

Angie, AB: I’ve been working with adult patients who are on the path to recovery and require rehabilitation. There is a client here whose second language is French. This presents a challenge in a place where no one speaks French! To top it all off, he has ataxic dysarthria and it’s difficult to understand him when he does try to speak. Since I’m the only person here who actually speaks fluent enough French to communicate well with him, I’ve already been asked to attend many sessions with the other therapists (PT, OT, etc). This was a total curveball, and I certainly had no idea I would be capable of practicing in French without further training. But everything is working out really well so far, and he seems to appreciate having someone to explain things to him in a language he can understand better!

Jill, Edmonton, AB: “The corridors of the Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital form loops within loops making it very easy to get disoriented. This is especially true in the eastern offices of Communications Disorders, which has been nicknamed ‘The Maze’!”

Whitney,  ON: I am at a School Board in Ontario. I went from a case load of 2 clients at Corbett to a solid 18 (with more coming once we finish our assessments and get permission from parents). I had one child tell me, while doing the CELF-P2 Word classes subtest, that comb and soap go together (not comb and brush) because you use the comb to check for bugs and the soap to wash them out. Also while working with another little one (who was getting a bit rambunctious) I said.. “I see a kid that might not get his sticker” His eyes widened and he looked around (to the empty room)and said “oh no, Who?” And I said “you!, but do you know what needs to happen to change that?” and he said “ya, better goodness!” I’ve also learnt that articulation errors can come up in your writing. I have a girl in grade 3 with no /r/. They were doing an assignment called word work and she wrote it wood wok! It’s like she doesn’t have the /r/ and doesn’t know it’s there!”

Meara, Northern BC: “I’m in Northern BC and spend 2 days a week on the road driving to reserves to do assessments and treatment. All my kiddos are adorable and so happy to see me. My caseload varies from severe phono to mild language to kids who need psych evals to neck cancer survivors! It’s intense and very much the rural “catch all” experience.”

Marlena, Edmonton, AB: “Today I saw a 5 year old running down the hall at lunch. He frantically dropped his pants to his ankles in the hallway before he could even get through the bathroom door”

Jenn, St.Albert, AB: “I’m working in a preschool setting and something happened today that melted my heart completely. During snack time, my supervisor was doing PECS with one of the boys with autism (let’s call him Jim). One of the other kids (let’s call him Damon) saw the exchanges happening and wanted to help. My supervisor taught Damon to take the PECS “snack” card from Jim when he held it out and taught him to give Jim a piece of his snack in return. Damon waited very, very patiently for Jim to eat/finish/exchange and even held off eating his own snack in order to help (he’s three!). To make things even cuter, Damon had to say “I want snack” every time he gave food to Jim. He had been working on his /s/ blends.. and said ‘snack’ perfectly! “

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

