Skip to content

Speechie Spotlight 3…

June 7, 2017

This week’s SLP student in the spotlight is Lindsay Ferguson. Read on and check back often to find out about the wonderful ladies and gentlemen that make up the class of 2018!

[Lindsay Ferguson]
 L Hometown: Empress, Alberta
Undergrad Degrees:

Bachelor of Community Rehabilitation and Disability Studies

Speech Language Pathology Assistant Diploma

Interests & Hobbies: Concerts, traveling, DIY projects, gardening, animals
Favourite thing about Edmonton: The river valley
Why did you decide to go into SLP?

I completed the SLP Assistant Diploma at Grant MacEwan and was then a SLP Assistant for several years, which I loved – so that solidified my thoughts on wanting to continue with my masters.  Originally, however, I worked as a nursing aide at a care home and was really affected by all of the residents, especially those requiring speech therapy.  Most of those residents weren’t able to communicate very well with staff, and it absolutely broke my heart.

 

Previous research or volunteer experience?

As an assistant, I worked for five years at the CRIS Clinic in Edmonton.  It was a really cool experience because I was actually trained onsite in OT and PT, so I was able to provide that type of therapy as well.  As for speech, I saw clients with a variety of neurological conditions such as Multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, and stroke.  I also co-lead many therapy groups, including Neighbourhood Chat aphasia groups for several years, which was a fantastic experience.  In addition, I worked in the private sector, where I saw a variety of ages and speech/language challenges. I travelled to client’s homes for therapy, which was really neat because you get a much more “real” sense of their everyday life.  I also volunteered at ABC Headstart and IStar, and had a major research project on communication accessibility in the community for people with aphasia as a requirement for my degree.

 

How did you find out you were accepted into the program?

Oh man.  I had actually just pulled up to a client’s house and checked my phone before going in and saw the email from Vicki.  I definitely began to cry and then called my boyfriend and one of my best friends. After work, my boyfriend and I went to the Keg to celebrate and ate everything on the menu. It was the best day.

Hardest part of the program so far?

I’ve found balancing the workload with working and having a life challenging.

 

Favourite part of the program so far?

Hmm, that’s a tough one. I really love the lab components – especially the cadaver and speech science labs.  We’ve had some very cool integration experiences as well.

What do you wish you had known before entering the program?

To take some time before the program starts to just relax if possible

 

Fun Fact: If I know you even just a little bit I can come up with a limerick about you pretty much straight away
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

